26 Jun 2018
Herts County Cricket Finals

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge

Cricket​​​​​​​​​ Tuesday, 26th June

Hertfordshire Schools Cricket Association

County Cup Finals

U14A​​Habs​​​122​ (20 overs)​​(Samani 48)

​​Dame Alice Owen’s​ 88​​​​(Kureshi 3 for 6, Padki 3 for 11)

Habs won by 34 runs


U13A​​Habs​​​180 for 0 (20 overs)​​(Niyam Shah 110*, Bajaj 40*)

​​Richard Hale​​ 93 for 9​​​(Brand 4 for 7, Nik Patel 3 for 25)

​​Habs won by 87 runs


The HSCA U14 shield is no stranger to the Habs Trophy Cabinet. It resided there for five consecutive years from 2011 to 2015 before going out on loan to other schools for the last two years. I am, however, pleased to report that it has been returned after our current U14 side defeated Dame Alice Owen’s School in the County Final at Woollams, St Albans on Tuesday.

Keshav Samani (48) top-scored in the Habs total of 122 in 20 overs, which, as coach Mr Haringpredicted, proved too much for the opposition once our spinners got to work. Leading wicket-taker Neel Madan claimed two more victims, taking his tally to 40 for the season and then Zaid Kureshi and captain Ashish Padki, with three wickets apiece, made victory certain, helping to dismiss Owen’s for 88 and giving SEH his sixth county title in this age group. Habs will now represent Hertfordshire in the national ECB/ESCA competition as U15s next year. We will also be looking to complete a clean sweep of county cups, having won our competition as U12s, U13s and now U14s.

A second success for Habs soon followed as our U13s comprehensively defeated Richard Hale School by 87 runs. Opener Niyam Shah scored a superb undefeated century (110* off just 65 balls), confirming his status as Junior School Cricketer of the Year. His opening partner Yuvi Bajaj (40*) was more sedate by comparison but equally as effective as the pair posted a match-winning total of 180 without loss in 20 overs. The result was never in doubt, although, to their credit, the opposition batted out their overs, finishing on 93 for 9, with Harry Brand and Nik Patel the most successful bowlers. Congratulations go to the whole team and coach Mr Baird.